Hodgepodge: Sweat and beverages

Posted: June 26, 2013 by terryvandrovec in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I got stuff on my mind, man. Little things. And here they are:

* It seems like Sparkling Ice is taking over the beverage world. On what do I base this assertion? The fact that my wife and my grandparents both drink it despite living in different Dakotas. Air-tight case.
If you’re among the uninitiated, Sparkling Ice is carbonated water that comes in a variety of flavors. There are no calories and minimal vitamins. In other words, it’s like fruity diet soda without the caffeine.
I like it just fine, but it raises a question: Why don’t we just drink water when seeking basic hydration? It’s like we feel compelled to entertain our taste buds for fear that they’ll get bored and leave.

* Sweating is awesome. It’s my favorite bodily function at the moment.
This crossed my mind the other day while I was at the gym, pounding out a couple miles on the treadmill while watching Wimbledon. My gym is air conditioned yet there’s no question that I sweat more there during the summer. The only downside is that it makes my earbuds more slippery. But it’s a small price to pay for the positives – the warm, the accomplishment, the fresh start. I imagine that’s how a snake feels when it sheds skin.
This is why I refuse to complain about the weather being too hot.

* I’ve gotten in the habit of doing (at least) a couple hours of work before going to bed. Tuck in the kids; get stuff done. I’ve found it gives me more freedom during the day.
It’s just that the downside can be mentally taxing. When my wife and kids and whatever company that might be at our house are laughing and carrying on, enjoying a care-free summer night, I get anxious, start to withdraw and think about all of the stuff that’s hanging over my head, knowing that time is slipping away and my sleep will suffer for it.
I doubt that I’m alone in this – plenty of friends and colleagues also do the late-night work thing. But I’m starting to wonder if it’s worthwhile. Maybe it’s better to be absent more during the day if that means being entirely present at night.

* Know what’s awesome? Coffee knowledge. That’s not to be confused with coffee snobbery.
The folks at Science Friday have put together a series of videos on what makes coffee work and how it can be manipulated for greater enjoyment. You can watch them here. Really interesting stuff.
Coffee enthusiasm and the craft-beer craze seem to have many similarities. The thing I like about the former more than the latter is it’s built around a stimulant rather than a depressant. With four kids in my charge, energy has to be in abundance meaning coffee is a more practical hobby for me than beer. I’m looking forward to trying to find a nice cup this week during a work trip to St. Cloud, Minn. And I’m considering buying a Moka Pot in order to start tinkering with homemade espresso.

Then again, maybe I should stop considering so much minutia and, you know, do something. There’s always tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

