Caffeine delivery perfected

Posted: January 7, 2013 by terryvandrovec in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’ve got a new drug, Huey Lewis.

Actually, it’s not a new drug so much as a new way to ingest my favorite drug – caffeine. A way that makes me feel more like an actual drug user. And I’m totally OK with that.

It’s called Mio Energy and, in a nutshell, it’s pure, flavored caffeine that comes in 1-2 oz. squeeze bottles. You just drop some into water and – voila – feel like an honest to goodness living human. It’s not new, just new to me, and I regret waiting so long to get on board.

It is, arguably, the best of all worlds in terms of caffeine consumption. Let me count the ways. And, no, I’m not being compensated for this, although that’s not to say I wouldn’t welcome the opportunity. (Smiling.):

Mio Energy just might be the perfect caffeine supplement.

Mio Energy just might be the perfect caffeine supplement.

* The container fits in your pocket and is under the allowable size for taking through airport security. I can envision myself keeping a spare in my laptop bag. You know, a little impending-deadline pick-me-up. Beats smuggling in an energy drink even if I’m not above that.

* It’s concentrated, not carbonated. Soda can make you all burpy and bloated. Not this stuff. I’m also going to assume that it’s also not as bad for your teeth. And unlike energy drinks, no risky and/or useless ingredients.

* There’s no preparation or refrigeration required, something coffee and soda can’t match. I’d argue you don’t necessarily even need water, although the package clearly discourages consumers from using without diluting. It also warns against mixing with alcohol or other caffeinated products. (Pshaw.)

* There is taste (ahem, boring water) and some control over the strength based on your level of fatigue. The recommended dosage is 1/2 tsp – that much packs 60 mg of caffeine. I’m more apt to order a double on the rocks.

* It’s less expensive than high-end coffee or energy drinks. My local grocery store sells it for $3.99 for a 12-serving bottle. But it also makes an off brand that goes 24 servings for $2.99. There’s nothing wrong with being a frugal caffeine fiend, right?

Bottom line: I just don’t see a downside, emphasis on “I just don’t see.” Maybe this stuff will slowly (or rapidly) eat away at my organs or cause me to grow a baby-sized arm on the top of my head, but I’m not aware of any such information and am not going to seek it out. Too much bad news lately about super caffeinated products. Ignorance is bliss when you’ve got four kids, a 24-hour job and narcolepsy.

Besides, it’s not like Mio Energy is going to become the exclusive caffeine provider of Terry Vandrovec. Rather, it’s making a strong play to become part of my daily energy supplement rotation. There was a time when caffeine was an afterthought – a bonus ingredient in a refreshing beverage. Then, it become a workout enhancer. Now, it’s a necessary addiction. I’m certain I’d end up face down in a dirty snowbank without it. I probably hammer five caffeinated products a day … minimum. It’s a mix of coffee, diet soda, energy drinks, vitamins – yes, my daily multivitamin is laced with caffeine – and now Mio Energy. It’s probably the closest I’ll ever come to fulfilling my dream of being hooked up – I’m talking IV, people – to a pure caffeine drip.

Such a thing does exist – I witnessed it in the NICU. I’m getting the shakes just thinking about it.

Comments
  1. shawnfury says:

    How I picture Terry on a typical day: http://youtu.be/QQN7WPleL9o

  2. Mike says:

    We have kids at school that down the whole bottle of Mio at once, the equivalent of drinking 21 cans of Coke. They are overdosing on the stuff and the scary part is they can buy it anywhere. I don’t think Shawn could even drink 21 cans of Coke in a day, could you?

    • Anonymous says:

      The dumbest thing about that? They’re … kids. The last thing they need is more energy. As for my single-day max, I’m going to guess its in the three cans of energy drinks range. That’s one reason I’ve tried more things like Mio (and coffee) – to get away from energy drinks.

  3. Rich Jensen says:

    You ever thought about the lyrics to “I Want a New Drug”?

    Kind of depressing. Mr. Lewis, it seems, is not so much into his girlfriend. He would prefer a drug that simulates the experience of being with his girlfriend.

Leave a Reply

