The Tapes: June 28

Posted: June 29, 2012 by terryvandrovec in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The Summer Solstice is behind us, meaning the days are already getting shorter. How depressing is that?

Let’s reflect on happier times … like earlier this week, when the future still seemed to bright:

* So some big stuff happened in Washington, D.C., on Thursday. That’s the extent of my knowledge of the situation. I’m only half kidding.
After my Twitter timeline made it apparent the Supreme Court ruling about the so-called Obamacare was a big deal, I decided to do some – some – research to find out what the fuss is about. I also asked my Facebook friends to explain it to me in simple terms. That quickly turned into a partisan squabble, and I turned out. And THAT is the primary reason I don’t follow politics. People can hardly convey basic information without getting emotional and opinionated.
I did, however, enjoy all the SCOTUS references. SCOTUS, POTUS, AGOTUS … acronyms are fun!

* The NBA Draft was held Thursday night in Newark, N.J. It was unusually light in the insanity department, but entertaining nonetheless. Lots of human-interest angles in the first round, including the story of Minneapolis native Royce White, now of the Houston Rockets. White initially committed to Minnesota, but got off track and then left the school, announcing his departure in an impressively produced YouTube video. (It has been been removed. But take my word that it was glorious.)
This week, multiple national outlets have chronicled White and his interesting mind. Here’s the Grantland version. (You know, since that site could use the extra traffic.)

* Fury here. Bowling story! Crazy bowling story, actually. I won’t spoil it all but it’s about a guy going for a 900 series in Texas. The headline is The Most Amazing Bowling Story Ever but is it really more amazing than the time a 7-year-old girl beat me in a game when I was 29?

* Sports Illustrated’s Tim Layden has a great story about the photo finish in the women’s 100-meter dash at the U.S. Olympic Trials.

Leave a comment