The Tapes: Dec. 16

Posted: December 16, 2011 by terryvandrovec in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s Friday. That means it’s time to watch The Tapes. For real. This isn’t a Chris Paul situation – where it’s going to happen and then not happen because somebody complains and then maybe happen again except not until it finally does happen much to the consternation of Kobe Bryant and David Stern. No, it’s not like that at all. But what is, really?

* In perhaps the greatest news ever, or at least the greatest news in the 33 years that I’ve roamed the Earth, a new study shows that caffeine can boost your workout. I’ve been doing this for a while, not because I thought it helped my performance, but because I’m often dead tired, have a mild form of narcolepsy and am physically addicted to exercise. I need to get to the gym by whatever means necessary.
To recap, I’m now allowed – nay, supposed to, according to recent research – ingest caffeine before my workout and chocolate milk after. Um, yes, please. In fact, I’ll have seconds.

* In other seems-too-rad-to-be-real news, swearing is good for you. Sort of. In moderation. But let’s not muddy up this sweet revelation with too many details.
Mostly, I can’t wait to tell this to my wife. See, I’m not a huge potty mouth, but I’ve been know to let a four-letter word fly at home during moments of extreme frustration. And my wife has been known to object – she says my cussing makes her more upset. Now, I practically have a license to work blue, although I sort of wish I knew what specific swear words were the most therapeutic.

* Fury here. NPR has a great post titled “The 20 Unhappiest People You Meet in the Comments Sections of Year-End Lists.” Sample: 13. The Subject-Changer. “If we’re talking about great comedy performances, I don’t know how you can leave out [Barack Obama/the Republican Debates/Occupy Wall Street/the Tea Party]. That was the funniest thing I saw all year.”

* ESPN produced another superb documentary that just aired – The Marinovich Project. It’s about former quarterback Todd Marinovich, who became famous as a kid for the training program set up by his dad, Marv. He then became famous for leaving USC early, then eventually succumbing to drug problems. Todd’s life story is similar to another ESPN subject, Chris Herren. A few years ago, Esquire writer Mike Sager wrote a great piece on Marinovich.

* A link to a bunch of links. Longform.org puts together its list of the best sportswriting of the year. The GQ piece on a high school basketball impostor was perhaps my favorite.

Leave a Reply

