The robots are coming

Posted: July 18, 2011 by terryvandrovec in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

After a considerable run, my Sonicare toothbrush died last week. I’m OK with that. It was one Black Friday impulse purchase that was well worthwhile.
But a funny thing happened upon trying to move on – I forgot how to manually brush my teeth. Not totally, of course, but the muscle memory is gone, replaced by crude, gum-scraping motions. Worse yet I actually had to think about what I was doing, no more multi-tasking. Before, I could simply hold the thing in my mouth and then switch champers when the beep told me to.
Now, I’ve long been a slave to technology. In fact, I’m writing this on my phone while putting my daughter to bed. But I always figured the reliance was largely a matter of luxury. For example, I’m pretty sure I could survive without HD TV. (My life might arguably be better without the vision of Al Davis in HD.) But when it gets to the point where we can’t do simple and necessary tasks like brushing our teeth or writing a letter, well, perhaps society has evolved to the point of devolving, if that’s a word.
Where do we go from here? I’ve been working on my circular strokes while awaiting the arrival of a new toothbrush, which I ordered from Amazon on my MacBook.
Maybe we’re all doomed.

Comments
  1. “Man has mastered the wheel but has lost the use of his legs.”

    -Ralph Waldo Emerson, “Self-Reliance”

  2. I guess if I did any actual reading I’d have already known this. Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

